In My House There Are Many Rooms

This one was empty.

It was the favorite son’s from age 5 to about age 13.  As a parent, I have always believed in letting the off-spring make their own choices.  And I have always tried to encourage creativity in all forms.  And I am lazy.  So when he was done with it, this room just collected dust and junk.

But lately I’ve been painting the rooms in this house colors that make me happy.  Others have advised, “But if you ever want to sell your house, all the rooms need to be white!”  And when I was married, except for children’s, all the rooms were different shades of “off-white.”  Not anymore.  Robin’s egg blue, mushroom brown, red, purple, olive, lettuce, navy, slate, yellow…the house is full of colors that make me happy. However, the colors in the above room didn’t make me happy.  That room made me feel uncomfortable.

Here is what the room looks like now.

Primed, mudded, and paint removed. And secret feng shui cures under the primer.  As soon as I get the first paycheck after a long summer of no paychecks, I will buy paint and base board moldings.  I think I want to paint it purple, like the purple of concord grapes.  And I think I want to sleep in here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In My House There Are Many Rooms

  1. Susan says:

    Good morning!
    I like reinvention.
    In rooms and blogs.

  2. I have a bedroom that’s been half-painted for a couple of years now. And I’ve decided I like it that way — I just have to make it look a little more intentional.

Leave a Reply

