One Word

I decided to join all the cool kids and do the Reverb10 project.  My whole life seems “unbloggable” now…The favorite son and I are back in the big house in the small city.  We gave up on the cottage by the bay for a lot of reasons (educational, financial, health, boredom, and more).

December 1 – One Word. Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you? (Author: Gwen Bell)

OK.  One word to encapsulate 2010.  Insulation. My coping mechanism to the inundation of previously unimaginable situations I absolutely have no control over has been to curl up in bed with a laptop, puppy, and sometimes (oh, the shame) a bag of peanut M&M’s.  Friends, family, favorite activities…too much work on top the world crashing down around and into me.

Ironically, the word I chose for 2010 (way back in January) was Joy.  Name it and claim it, right? I did find the word all over the place.

Graffiti, notebooks, shopping bags, names of service providers…an idea of a safe place in a bad storm, but not much of a reality.

What word would I like to have captured 2011 for me?  Restoration.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Word

  1. annie says:

    I’m so glad you’ve decided to do this too! I am afraid I am going to end up having trouble with consistency, and also maybe, with prompts that bring me too close to things I do not want to share. But I am going to try to be persistent.

    I am all to familiar with the idea of insulating. But how I love that you are moving toward restoration.

  2. Tracy Mangold says:

    Insulation could also describe me this year. In many ways, I’ve done the same thing. I let my fear of things – of success – of change prevent me from truly living and expanding outwards. Instead, I insulated myself and I am determined to change that. Thank you for your post. Here’s to restoration!

  3. Susan says:

    My word; Broke.
    Same as last year’s word and the year before. Being broke makes me jump through hoops to get thru every day, day after day. It keeps me frustrated, argumentative and angry. It makes me withdraw. Or attack. It saps my strength. It makes me find comfort in a glass of wine. It also makes me bake at 10pm.
    Next year’s word; Progress.

  4. Blin says:

    Hello. Thanks for your reply. Your word for 2011 is also a nice word. But I sure do its not going to be your only word. Restoration costs a lot of energy so you will need “rest” and “joy” and all the positive a year can give you too.

Leave a Reply

