Moment

December 3 – Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors). (Author: Ali Edwards)

During the worst time frame of torture, I would square up my shoulders, lift my head up high, take deep breaths, and make lists.  Each list had categories; home improvement, hygiene, nutrition, fun, dog (so he would not become a neglected victim of the chaos), pampering, exercise, creativity, and friends.  I tried to do something from each category that would be good for me every day. There was  a great sense of accomplishment as I crossed each finished activity off my list.

Most items on my lists would center around the lake; walking the dog, walking with friends, walking for exercise, picking grape leaves or berries, gathering wild flowers, collecting rocks, listening to the waves…

The lake always invigorates me.

On this day, the wind was brisk, fresh, clean air was flowing through my hair and clothing, making everything even the clouds, flutter, flutter, flutter. White. Walking through the field, the scratchy grass  halfway to my knees, made the buzzing grasshoppers jump ahead. Green. The sun poured out on sumac berries and wild roses, lemony, astringent. Red. The wind flew in with traces of the lake, fresh and cleansing. Blue. Suddenly, a bunch of resting goslings, disturbed by the dog and me, took flight with their parents, honking like bike horns.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moment

  1. It’s often during our worst times that hanging onto the small things can be helpful.

    Keeping yourself busy is definitely important

Leave a Reply

