Community

Community Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011? (Author: Cali Harris)

Because of the crisis/emergency/hell/unbearableness I find myself in, I’ve been leaning on others.  When I thought about community, I thought of support systems.  That’s where my mind is these days.

Online Community I’ve been blogging for about 5 years at 4 different places, and I have become acquainted (sometimes even in real life!) with some amazing people.  (Soon I will make a new page with links to all the cool kids.)

Family Two big brothers and a big sister, pretty far away.  Mom lives down the street.  A brother-in-law (I managed to get custody after the divorce). My immediate family are the reason I’ve survived this difficult year. Cousins and even kids of cousins (who are strangely familiar) have reconnected on facebook.

Friends There is a core group of friends I do stuff with: yoga class, dinner, movies, cups and cups of coffee or tea, dog walking, swimming…We all get together as a group, we five, plus a bunch of periphery friends, once a month or so.

Work I love work.  Work is my safe, happy place.  I’ve had relationships with my colleagues for over 10 years, and there is real love there.  I had to miss part of the opening of the school year because of a family emergency/crisis/hell, and found this in my desk when I came in.

It’s still there.

For 2011, I would like to connect more deeply with all of my communities.  It would be fun to meet more of the online friends, or at least communicate through other means (phone, mail, texting). Family, I need to see them more!  I would like to get together with my cousins, and meet their strangely familiar kids. My friends are awesome, but I would like to do more fun stuff. And work?  I always thought I needed to keep work people and private life people separate.  But they have been so supportive and comforting, maybe we should get together outside of work once in a while?

And for 2011, this difficult year will be over.  Yay!  Instead of leaning on others, I will be a supportive one.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Community

  1. Susan says:

    I recommend combining work people & private people. Cousins & neighbors work well together too.

  2. I would love to meet you one day.

Leave a Reply

