Wisdom

December 10 – Wisdom Wisdom. What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out? (Author: Susannah Conway)

We all deserve to live healthy, productive, happiness-pursuing lives.

I’m basing this premise on the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation‘s  motto (which I hear everyday on NPR) and the Declaration of Independence.

The wisest decision I’ve made this year is to pursue a healthy, productive, happy life.  My own life, not trying to make it happen for someone else. That’s my top priority now. That’s my wisest decision of 2010.

Since my family emergency/crisis/hell started, service and health care providers have counseled, “Always take care of yourself first!”  And I always thought, “What the hell is that supposed to mean?  How, during all this, am I supposed to find time and resources to take care of myself?” Well, with me, it finally began when the situation came to a metaphorical head, and there was metaphorical puss spurting everywhere. And I got myself regular therapy with a therapist who is teaching me how and why to take care of myself.

During this morning’s announcements, our principal said, “Knowledge without wisdom is like a load of books on a fool’s back.”  So here’s the wisdom to add to my knowledge.  If you are in a crisis, take care of yourself first.  Like when you’re on an airplane, and you have to put an oxygen mask on.  Put it on yourself first, then your kid.  Because if you keel over from lack of oxygen, so will your kid, and then who will help him?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wisdom

  1. Susan says:

    My wisest decision has been to know when to keep my mouth shut.
    Small but effective.

  2. annie says:

    I’m so glad you are learning, Patti!

Leave a Reply

