Remembering

December 15 – 5 Minutes Imagine you will completely lose your memory of 2010 in five minutes. Set an alarm for five minutes and capture the things you most want to remember about 2010. (Author: Patti Digh)

So the author of today’s prompt is named Patti, she wrote a book called

Life Is a Verb: 37 Days to Wake Up, Be Mindful, and Live Intentionally

which I am considering buying, (37 is my favorite number, it’s my house number, and when I was 37, I spent the entire year thinking I was 38, so I missed an entire year), and here is Patti Digh’s blog. And I am seriously going to steal this prompt and use it in my writing class today.  That is, if we don’t have another snow day.

I did it.  I set the timer and thought about things that happened in 2010.  Unfortunately, the best thing I can do with 2010 is to walk away from it.  But anyway, writing the list, I kept telling myself, “positive, positive!” Here’s what I came up with:

1. I thought hard and seriously about moving.  And I took action.  There must be a reason I’m still here.
2. My friends are amazing.
3. My mom loves me.
4. She started trying to show that she can take care of me once in a while.
5. My favorite son finished 11th grade.
6. My favorite daughter who is semi-estranged (her choice) called and talked to me.
7. I saw my favorite daughter for her birthday.
8. I saw my favorite daughter’s concert.
9. The garden.
10. My dog and 3 cats were such a comfort.
11. The house has some improvements.
12. A trip to Lake Placid.
13. Dating a guy named Tom.
14. Kindness offered by people I didn’t expect.
15. My new laptop.

16. Ideas of starting over.

17. Finding my strength.

That’s it! 

How did I get this shot? Can you say trespassing?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Remembering

  1. Jean Spitzer says:

    Great prompt (good choice to “steal”).

    Think I’ll take 5 and give it a try.

  2. I enjoyed that. Like a roller coaster ride.

  3. (Honest, I wrote that without every looking at the ski jump.)

  4. I feel the same way about the year 2010…it’s probably to walk away into better things.

Leave a Reply

