Sewing

Handmade By Heidi has a regular Friday Night Sew In.  The idea is one will stay in and finish a procrastinated sewing project. I thrift/make/refashion most of what I wear, so of course I have a sizable unfinished pile.

A couple of years ago, I bought a 100% wool, XL maternity, turtle neck sweater. I put it through the wash (on hot) a couple of times, and then the dryer, to shrink and felt it.  But then the turtle neck choked me, so I cut it off.  And then I realized it’s much easier to hide the muffin top with cardigans; sweaters tend to emphasize the overflow.  So next I cut the sweater down the middle.  The sweater sat on a pile for a very long time, waiting to be finished off. Finally, I hemmed the neckline and finished the center off with bias tape.

All I have is the camera feature of my phone, no tripod, no decent camera.  Here are my attempts at photographing my new(ish) cardigan.

Will you take my word for it that it looks good? It’s a quick and easy refashion.  I may do all my sweaters.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sewing

  1. yolanda says:

    It does look good and you do too.

  2. Susan says:

    I like it with some skin showing underneath, like in the photo. I also like the combination of pink & black.

  3. It’s always so nice to see a fellow blogger’s face. Saying that makes me a massive hypocrite, of course, for you’ll never see mine, but I’m glad all the same that you posted this.

Leave a Reply

