OK

December 24 Prompt – Everything’s OK What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead?

There is a certain person, very close to me, who is not doing very well.  This person has a chronic health problem, will not can not admit to it, and consequently is not taking the care that needs to be taken in order to function.

So I try to encourage the obvious, meds and therapy are out of the question, so let’s try excellent nutrition, exercise, rest, friends.  Maybe that will help.  But turns out that’s not possible either.

Red lights are flashing on the highway
I wonder if we’re gonna ever get home
I wonder if we’re gonna ever get home tonight
Everywhere the waters getting rough
Your best intentions may not be enough
I wonder if we’re gonna ever get home tonight*

So, I’m watching this person deteriorate and stumble around all alone, feeling terrible, alienated, frustrated. Hurting, hurting, hurting. Last summer, I bore witness as this person planned and set out to do something illegal and dangerous.  Nothing I could say would stop this person, so I sat on the back steps and cried and cried.  The crows joined in and were oddly comforting.  It seemed as if they were talking to me; “Don’t worry, don’t worry.  It’s OK, it’s OK.  You’ll be fine, you’ll be fine.  Be patient, be patient.”

Suddenly this person came to his senses and things were OK, then not, then OK again. Then not.

You’re out there walking down a highway
And all of the signs got blown away
Sometimes I wonder if you’re walking in the wrong direction*

And things are mostly not good now.  Really not good. Usually when things are not good, a voice as if from on high calls to me, telling me it’ll be OK.  Even this time, but this time I’m losing faith.  This time it’s so not good that thoughts of severing ties are more comforting than waiting for everything to be OK. Then I hear this song again.

But if you break down
I’ll drive out and find you
If you forget my love
I’ll try to remind you
And stay by you when it don’t come easy*

And I remember what this person is really like without the illness and all that I love about this person; amazing talent, kindness, intelligence, thoughtfulness, athletic ability, grace, charm…

2011 will be the year when what is asunder is put back together.  This person will become who he really is, who he is meant to be. Health and balance will be restored.  Maybe I’ll be there, maybe not – but I’ll always be ready to come running to pick him up, if he wants and needs me to. Here’s to me, trying to remind him.

Everything will be OK.

*Lyrics from “When It Don’t Come Easy” by Patti Griffin.  Click the link below and hear the song.

When It Don’t Come Easy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OK

  1. annie says:

    Tears and prayers this morning for you, Patti, and for others in similar heart-wrenching situations. How I pray that health and balance will be restored.

Leave a Reply

