Pie

December 26 – Soul Food What did you eat this year that you will never forget? What went into your mouth & touched your soul? (Author: Elise Marie Collins)

This one is so easy.  Food!  I have been studying for that blood test, the one where you have to fast for 12 hours and they check cholesterol levels. For a month I have eaten oatmeal for breakfast, and beans for either lunch or dinner (sometimes both!).  I have cut back on white flour, white sugar and animal fat. And I have been decaffeinating gradually.  This week I’m down to 1/4 caff, 3/4 decaff.  But none of that touched my soul.

On a particularly dark day, in the middle of a dark, scary summer, my friends came over.  I made a cheesecake and bought a bottle of wine.  Jane, unexpectedly, brought a pie. Not just any pie.  She taught me how to make her crust, but I don’t do it as well as she does.  It’s not made with crisco <shuddering> or butter, it’s made with olive oil.  The filling for this pie was sour cherry and raspberry; cherries she picked from the orchard and pitted by hand, and raspberries from her garden.

 

Jane's Pie

She always makes a lattice top.

Friends, pie, wine.  We four ate the whole pie and drank 2 bottles of wine. It touched my soul.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pie

  1. Susan says:

    Can we talk about what I drank because I’ve definately been running to the shelter of her mother’s little helper.

  2. Susan says:

    Definitely. I meant definitely.

Leave a Reply

