Ordinary Joy

December 27 – Ordinary Joy Our most profound joy is often experienced during ordinary moments. What was one of your most joyful ordinary moments this year? (Author: Brené Brown)

How serendipitous today’s prompt is.  I planned to post reflections on Joy, my chosen word for 2010.

My favorite son and I went to spend the weekend with my favorite daughter on her birthday.

We went to the fine arts museum, had lunch, walked around the commons, bought stuff from street vendors, ate good food, then we went for a hike.  We wanted to go to Walden Pond, but it was closed and the parking lots were fenced in.  So we hiked in the Concord Town woods instead.  I’m sure Thoreau was familiar with these woods, too – they aren’t far from Walden Pond and only a brief walk from his cabin.

We found a stream, and at the bottom was a yellow lacrosse ball.  My favorite daughter  balanced on stepping stones to fetch it.  She handed it over to me and said, “The dog will like this.”

He did love playing with it, but now it’s lost.  I had wonderful pictures of this day, but they were on my phone, and my phone was stolen.

Here’s one I uploaded to facebook.  That’s her with the curls and the striped hat.

Number 9

I want more days like this for 2011.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ordinary Joy

  1. annie says:

    I hope you have many more days like this in 2011.

Leave a Reply

