2nd Biopsy

20111126-070541.jpg

(This is me about a week after the procedure.  The entire boobie was bruised.)

On September 23, the person who performed my maammogram  gave me a pamphlet explaining the procedure for the stereotactic core biopsy.   It said I could drive myself, so I did.  It also said the surgeon would find the best place to go in, boom, get the sample, and you’re ready to go before the local anesthetic even wears off.  (This is not the info sheet I received, but it explains the procedure.)

On October 3, I went to the local hospital outpatient surgical center by myself.  I don’t even think I told anyone where I was going. I got naked on top, put on the gown, and walked to the room.  The table I climbed up on had holes to put boobies in.  The mammogram machine was under the table.

The actual procedure is a blur, it lasted over and hour and it was very painful.  I lost count of the times she injected me with the local. I have a very high tolerance for pain, I did not cry when I broke bones, fell down the stairs, or sliced the tip of my finger off.  But this procedure made me cry.

When it was finally over, I asked the surgeon, “Why am I crying?”

“Because we just tortured you.”  she answered. She continued,

“I’m not going to lie to you.  The tissue I was looking for kept moving, and when I finally isolated it, it was really hard to cut.  We will wait for results, but I suspect the worst.”

She went with me to fetch my clothes and get dressed.  She got me two drinks of water and sat with me until I stopped shaking.  She wrote me a prescription for Vicodin (which I still have in my collection of unfilled scripts for pain meds).  And she walked me to the door.

“I’ll call you as soon as I know anything.  Take tomorrow off if you can.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2nd Biopsy

  1. jo(e) says:

    Oh, that’s difficult. I’m so sorry you are going through this.

  2. Aunt Snow says:

    Oh, my. The way you tell this story is so modest and yet so powerful.

Leave a Reply

