First You Cry

20111129-134638.jpg

I made the biopsy follow up appointment for October 10, Columbus day, so I wouldn’t have to miss work.

It was a beautiful day, 80 degrees and sunny with just starting to change leaves. So we went for a walk that morning. The dog is on the other end of the blue leash, and I still have 2 boobies in this picture.

You know, when the surgeon told me I had cancer, all I heard was fwa fwa fwa. After the word cancer. I don’t remember, but I must have told her I wanted my mastectomy as soon as possible, because I was scheduled for surgery on October 17, one week later.

When I got home, I made lemon bars.
Here’s the recipe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First You Cry

  1. I might have made Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies:
    2 cups peanut butter
    2 cups sugar
    2 teaspoons baking soda
    2 eggs, beaten
    2 teaspoons vanilla
    350*
    Form into 1″ balls & drop onto ungreased cookie sheet
    Bake for 9-12 minutes or until bottoms brown

  2. JaniceP says:

    I make jam when I’m stressed. I suspect it’d be oozing out of the freezer by now.

  3. Dawn in DC's Dad says:

    I just came over from Twisted Susan’s blog.

    I’m so sorry you have to go through this. My wife was diagnosed and joined the Sisterhood on the day Obama was inaugurated in 2009. She went through the chemo before her double mastectomy and is doing fine now. I hope and pray the same for you.

    I also hope you are finding that help and support will come from everywhere to guide you through this crisis. It really is a Sisterhood. Complete strangers would come up to her, hug her and give her words of encouragement from their experience. She is now paying it forward and doing the same for others in the same situation.

    I started a blog at the time to vent my feelings and let others who cared about her keep up with her progress. It’s good to have a release and it looks like you have one in your blog.

    The pink ribbon detour isn’t an easy road, but from what little I’ve read so far, you’ve got what it takes to make it through. Good luck and Godspeed…

Leave a Reply

