Grapefruit Olive Oil Cake

20120318-105353.jpg

I am all about everything grapefruit.  I eat a whole grapefruit everyday.  I wish I could find perfume that really smells like grapefruit.  I’m planning on putting up a batch of grapefruit marmalade. When I saw this recipe, I knew what I was bringing to my “Coming Out (or my head is anyway)” Party.  (That’s when I took my hat off and decided to go (almost) bald.  My hair actually came in and is about 3/8″ long, but since it’s mostly white I still look bald. My friends, god bless them, say it looks stunningly beautiful. ( I still feel a little freakish.))

20120318-105533.jpg

Seven women, all either full blown or peri – menopausal and therefore very cognizant of what we eat, did this much damage to the cake.

20120318-110044.jpg

Add a couple of teenage girls and this is what’s left. See how the glaze and crumbs have been scraped off the serving dish? It’s really that good.

Here’s how I did it:

Butter and flour a bundt pan, set the oven at 350 degrees F. Zest 2 grapefruit into a large mixing bowl.  Add 1 cup sugar.  Rub the zest into the sugar with your fingers.  Juice one of the grapefruits (I got about 3/4 cup of juice from one grapefruit) and add to the bowl.  Whisk well until the sugar is dissolved. Whisk in 1/2 cup buttermilk, 2/3 cup of extra virgin olive oil and 2 eggs.  Whisk until everything is mixed in and a little frothy.  Add 1 cup white whole wheat flour, 1 cup all purpose flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, and 1/4 teaspoon salt.  Still using the whisk, stir well. Pour the batter into the prepared pan.  Bake for 50 minutes (about).

While the cake is baking, cut the remaining grapefruit in half and juice one of the halves.  In a small mixing bowl, stir the juice and about 1 cup of confectioner’s sugar and the juice until smooth.  Eat the other grapefruit half.

When the cake is done, take it out of the pan and put it on a rack to cool.  After about one hour of cooling, it’s time to glaze.  Place a plate under the rack, under the cake to catch the glaze that will drip off.  I kept spooning the glaze from the plate back onto the cake about four times while it was on the rack.  Put the cake on the serving plate, and glaze one more time.

This cake is definitely worth the trouble.  I think it’s a perfect early spring desert!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grapefruit Olive Oil Cake

  1. annie says:

    I’ve never been much on grapefruit but it does seem like this would be a really good cake! I may have to print up the recipe and try it myself or pass it on to my mother to try. She is always game for a new recipe!

  2. Patti, this looks absolutely fabulous! My mouth is now watering for grapefruit…
    And it is so good to know you are celebrating. 🙂

  3. fondofsnape says:

    mmmm, that sounds amazing! I’ve been eating grapefuits often, too! I take the time to peel the skin off, then the membranes off the fruit…it’s messy, but delicious! I think I’ll go get one right now!

  4. I can just tell this melts in your mouth. If I could bake, I’d bake this.

Leave a Reply

