Fancy Pants

I’ve discovered a new obsession, making my own underpants.

20120525-103345.jpg

Cute ones.

20120525-103501.jpg

Substantial ones.

20120525-103658.jpg

Fancy ones.

20120525-103727.jpg

And colorful ones.

They all have cotton crotch panels(even if the main fabric is synthetic),

20120525-103852.jpg

and little heart tags in the back.

20120525-103938.jpg

I made a pattern by cutting apart and tracing a pair of old faithfuls.

20120525-104105.jpg

And I mostly use thrifted T-shirts to make them from. I have tried fold-over elastic, underwear elastic (with a decorative edge), lace elastic, and plain old everyday elastic. Plain old has worked the best, and it is also the cheapest and easiest to come by.

I love my undies, they fit me exactly right and they are comfortable beyond measure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fancy Pants

  1. annie says:

    You win the Queen of Patience Award in my book! They are pretty and I bet they are comfortable!

  2. I like anything that keeps the mind occupied, particularly slightly kooky domestic obsessions.

  3. My grandmother made her own fancy pants, too! Even at the age of 12, I found it highly admirable.
    (Filing this in my “someday if my sewing skills ever progress enough to tackle this project” file)

  4. I am reasonably certain I will never sew well enough to do that. Impressive! I wouldn’t even know how to begin.

Leave a Reply

