Everybody Dance, Now. Everbody Dance Now!

(Gob, Arrested Development, Afternoon Delight)

Thanks to

radiation treatment, I have been mind-numbingly fatigued.  Like swimming through oatmeal fatigued.  It was funny how it didn’t start until a couple of weeks after treatment was over. The radiation oncologist suggested I should be grateful I have enough energy to get through a work day (even though I would literally do nothing but eat dinner and go to bed after work, gaining 20 pounds along the way, eek!), because many women in my position can’t.  Also, she said the fatigue should go away in 6 to 8 months.

Well, thankfully, the fatigue has lifted, after only 3 months.  I can pinpoint the day, a week ago Monday.  I woke up feeling good from a really good (the first in a long, long time) night’s sleep.

That, ironically, gives me 2 weeks of sort of normal before the next and last big step – reconstruction surgery.  (Yay!  I am so excited!)

I am not any where near normal as this day yet.  I’m doing stuff, exercising, going out (I even went on a trip!  By myself!), attending meetings, visiting doctors, eating well…with lots of resting in between. My blood counts are not normal yet, in fact they are getting worse.  One of the reasons radiation causes such life interrupting fatigue is that it destroys bone marrow.  Bone marrow that used to make red and white blood cells.  Red and white blood cells needed for such things as delivering oxygen and fighting infection.

So could y’all send me some positive thoughts for building good blood?  Just the right amount of red and white cells?

Thanks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Everybody Dance, Now. Everbody Dance Now!

  1. spookyrach says:

    I’m going all out with vampire-y goodness and hoping you build strong, [tasty] healthy blood. 🙂 Glad to hear you’re pulling out of the fatigue.

  2. annie says:

    Yes, prayers and warm thoughts headed your way, Patti! I too am glad to hear you are getting some of your “get-up-and-go” back!

  3. JaniceP says:

    All sorts of good thoughts and blood cells, coming your way. It’s good to hear that you’re getting past the radiation.

  4. Martha says:

    Absolutely will be praying for you.

  5. Sending you all the goodness in the world.

  6. Lori VC says:

    http://youtu.be/JUz48xw_OiM Some of Billy Joel’s red and white. Just for you, darlin’.

  7. May your blood counts improve as impressively as your returning energy!
    I’m so glad you were able to meet Mrs. G. (and Gary!)

  8. The hair looks good, baby!

Leave a Reply

