So What DO You Eat

is what my boss asked me recently. We were at lunch and I had just told her that, except for one or two cheats per week, I eat a gluten free, soy free, vegan, mostly sugar free diet.

I’ve been vegetarian since age 16, and I’ve been very careful about what I eat most of the time. But after my breast cancer diagnosis, I read this nutrition article and decided to eat wild caught salmon during treatment and after surgery.  I also decided to eat an orange vegetable (carrots, squash, or sweet potato), a cruciferous vegetable (broccoli, cabbage, turnips, radish, brussel sprouts, kale), tomatoes, and green leafies, pomegranates, and berries  every day.  It was a chore to shop, prepare, and eat all this food.  Sometimes, by the end of the day, I would have to coach myself to eat.

“Just eat the damn broccoli.”

So what do I eat?  Mostly fruits and vegetables, beans, gluten free crackers, spaghetti squash, nuts, seeds, and tomatoes, tomatoes, tomatoes.  I did not expect to be eating home grown tomatoes still, three days after Thanksgiving!  Oh, and it’s mostly organic.

You can check out this guy, Andrew Weil, and this one,
Mark Hyman. I’ve read both their recent books, and except that I skip the dairy, meat, fish, and soy, I follow their plans.

I watched this movie Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead. I bought a juicer and make vegetable (kale! beet! carrot!) juices every weekday morning for breakfast. I go crazy on the weekends and have oatmeal with flax seeds.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So What DO You Eat

  1. annie says:

    I am impressed, Patti. I should eat better than I do but I am such a childish picky eater. I am getting a little better about my eating.

  2. I need to use our Vitamix machine more often. I’m impressed that you work so hard at your healthy diet.
    Most dinners at my house include green leafies and orange vegetables. My 20yo has gone Paleo and was not consuming enough food last spring/summer. We were glad to see [over Thanksgiving break] that he is finally eating enough to put on a few pounds and looking healthy again.

  3. Kale chips, they’re fantastic as long as I don’t burn them.

  4. I just watched Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead too! I found it very inspiring on a lot of levels. I haven’t bought a juicer – but I have been eating waaaaaaaaaaay more veggies as a percent of total food intake (and a much broader variety), and I have been buying a commercial juice that is a blend of fruits and veggies an nothing else (no sugar, no nothin’ – http://www.nakedjuice.com/ – if you are interested). Less then a week of this juice – sometimes as a meal, sometimes with a meal, but more than once a day, and I am feeling better than I have felt in years.

    It’s funny, the way we need nutrients in what we eat to feel good.

    That ought to be elementary.

Leave a Reply

