Becoming Myself Again

What was your most significant expenditure in 2012?

It doesn’t have to be necessarily the biggest expenditure, just the one with the most impact.

What difference has it made to your life?

Those little things and not so little things I do to pamper myself.

  1. Acupuncture: $75 (once per month)
  2. Laser Hair Removal: $75 (as needed…hair sprouts in unexpected places after chemotherapy)
  3. Eyebrow wax: $10.00 (as needed, see above)
  4. Massage Therapy: $65 (once per month)
  5. Brazilian Wax: $70 (every 6 weeks)
  6. Psychotherapy: $10 after insurance (once per week)
  7. Hair cut and color:$65.00 (once per month)
  8. Personal Trainer : $25.00 (once per week)
  9. Bikram Yoga: $10.00 (per class, once or twice a week)
  10. YMCA Membership: $58 (per month, unlimited classes and usage)

For the first time since I was a young college student, I take care of myself first. I pull the “C” card and tell myself, “I need this to feel better, get healthy, reduce stress…”

I want my beauty, strength, energy and health back.  And by golly (and with determination and the help of those service providers) I will get it.

https://i0.wp.com/www.bikramyogaoswego.com/uploads/8/9/7/0/8970937/9893092_orig.jpg

The yoga studio, it’s heated to 106 degrees.  I’m addicted. My favorite spot is in front of the mirror by the white door.

Reverb12

This entry was posted in now is the time, reverb12. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Becoming Myself Again

  1. Martha says:

    I’m so glad you’re caring for your self. It’s wonderful.

  2. JaniceP says:

    I’m taking a different tactic. I have been cutting back to the Me expenses, and applying them to a debt that built up due to problems with the house. So, my most impactful expenditure right now is $200/week to the debt. I keep telling myself that a year from now, when I’m debt free and have an extra $800/month, I’ll be glad I did it.

  3. annie says:

    I am also glad you are taking care of yourself, Patti.

  4. I’m jealous that: you know someone who can play Satie, and you visit this beautiful studio. My most significant expenditures this year have been boring. I’ll try to do better next year. I must say, you set the bar rather high. I’m rather jealous of that, as well.

  5. Good for you! My BFF gave me a gift certificate for Christmas/my birthday last year to a salon she had found online (she lives in Texas, I live in WA). It paid for almost 2 visits of a good haircut/styling and some facial waxing. My gift to myself has been to keep going every 2 months or so. I used to think it didn’t matter, that I could cut it myself or just skip such things as waxing (I’m pretty good with the tweezers) but I’ve come to see that it is a healthy expenditure because I feel so good about myself afterward. Money well spent!
    I’m glad you are faithfully taking care of yourself, Patti. ♥ There are so many unknowns in our lives, and so many things that we cannot control — it is good to make positive choices with the things we can control.

  6. 106 degrees? I didn’t envision Hell’s waiting room to be so pretty.

Leave a Reply

