Pilgrimage

*Disclaimer*  I am not catholic (I’m not even a good christian.  I’m one of those “I love Jesus, but I don’t much like christians” christians.), and before this I have been skeptical of saints. I take NO credit for the healing described in the post.

What was your dream destination in 2012 and why? 

It can be a town, city, country or region — real or imaginary — and doesn’t matter if you actually got there or not! (Reverb12 Prompt #5)

I’ve heard journalists and others pronounce her name Cat-er-eye, but real Mohawks pronounce it Gud-duh-liegh.

In August of 2012, I went on a trip to the shrine of Kateri Tekakwitha.  It’s not far from here, but there were a few other historic places nearby that I wanted to visit, so I stayed overnight. And I wanted to go alone.

At the chapel, I lit candles (for me, my son, two other cancer patients, my daughter, and my mother) for healing. Kateri is known for miracles of healing.

I walked around and looked at everything, even the gift shop. I took a walk to the archeological site that used to be her village.

I went to pray and scoop up a jar of holy water where she was baptized.

I sat by the spring and prayed for my healing and for my son’s healing.  I also prayed for the healing of my kids’ and my relationship until I heard a voice say, “Get up and go now.  Go NOW!”

As I hiked back to the shrine, I noticed a little cut on my right arm (the cancer side), less than 1/4 inch, with little drops of blood dripping out.  I know this is symbolic, I just haven’t figured it out yet.

My trip was in August, she became a saint in October.  The first Native American saint.  And she happens to be from my little tribe, the Mohawks.  My son and I are well on our way to healing.  The two cancer patients are also, one has “no evidence of disease” after having been determined terminal, the other was caught at stage 1 and was taken care of with surgery.  My mother’s OK, and so is my daughter. I still have a jar of holy water on the table in the front room.  What does one do with holy water?

(I also visited a certain historically  famous person’s residence.  My family may or my not be descended from him.  My brother and I are toying with the idea of writing a screen play about his escapades.)

(The blue tape indicates the flood line from Hurricane Irene. Irene is my sister’s name.)

This entry was posted in reverb12. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pilgrimage

  1. annie says:

    I enjoyed reading about your pilgrimage!

  2. Fascinating! And while I am thrilled for your healing and the positive progress on your son’s healing, I am consumed with curiosity about this:
    I sat by the spring and prayed … …until I heard a voice say, “Get up and go now. Go NOW!”

    Have you ever discovered the reason for this urgent command that you heard?

  3. My daughter’s name is Lily.

Leave a Reply

