Selfie

She shared the video about moms and daughters taking selfies.  It was about a project to help younger and older women accept their perceived faults as attributes of beauty.  So watch the video and use the word selfie as a prompt, she suggested.

Asymmetry, one eye hooded, one deeper set. Wrinkles. Floppy neck. Sparse eye lashes and eye brows. Crazy hair. Mustache. I don’t even know where to begin with that nose. Crooked second incisor. Scars. Love handles. Bunion. Varicose veins. Chin hairs.

Image

With this body and with this face I inspire and encourage students to work hard and succeed. I am loving my son and daughter. I am engaged in incredible friendships. I attracted the love of an amazing man. I run races. I practice yoga. I dance and dream and write.  With this body and this face I find determination and passion and strength.  Heads turn towards me and gazes follow me.

Am I beautiful?  Yup.  You bet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Selfie

  1. spookyrach says:

    Weellllllll played.

    Yep.

    You are. 🙂

  2. ~grins really big~ Yes you certainly ARE!

  3. That’s a terrific mop of red hair you’ve got there.

Leave a Reply

