Running in the dark

I woke up at 5 am, which is not notable. You know that special kind of insomnia that won’t let you sleep past a certain very unreasonable early morning hour? I suffer from that. But I am aware that not everybody does, including my roommate for the conference. So I carefully and quietly put on my running gear and snuck out of the room.

I love old hotels. I love staying in the middle of the city. The buildings are all marble and granite – substantial and beautiful. There is movement and energy and purpose outside, all the time. Even in the pre-dawn hours.

I had uncomfortable feelings about going for a run this early, I’m sure it would have been safe, but I thought I should hold off going outside until more commuters filled the streets. So I asked the desk clerk,  “where can I find the gym?” 3rd floor, end of the hall. I smiled when I saw the fitness room; a converted hotel room with a rubbery floor and a couple of treadmills. I had planned on playing with weights and using the elliptical for 10 minutes or so.

Instead, I ran for 15 minutes inside before venturing out to State Street smack in the middle of the capitol district. I felt wind from the mountains on my face while streetlights competed with the dark. Diesel bus fumes, deliveries, people walking with satchels and lunch bags. The steady beat of one foot in front of the other.  Breathing hard. Sweating. Feeling amazing.

Time to turn around, return to the hotel, and get ready for another day of learning how to teach math.

photo

This entry was posted in 31 days of moving. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running in the dark

  1. annie says:

    I love hearing about your runs.

Leave a Reply

